‘STORM’ing Home a Maiden Winner: Color Cam at Parx

One of the most exciting things at ThoroEdge I have come across over the past several years is a nutritional supplement out of the UK called STORM. More info on this blog at http://www.thoroedge.wordpress.com/storm.

Recently, one of my clients was generous enough to allow me to publicize his latest success story at Parx outside of Philadelphia. The video link to the race is above.

Color Cam is a 3yo maiden with 5 races to his name, having previously been trained by Nick Zito. In his debut he ran third to a promising Mark Valeski, and in his next start he was soundly beaten by rising star El Padrino. Since then, despite a few class drops – he had yet to find the winner’s circle, and had never displayed any type of closing kick.

I’ll leave the rest to owner Jeremiah Kane:

“I started my 3 y.o. colt (Color Cam) on STORM after I purchased him in early January 2012. He’s been on the program about seven weeks now and his stamina and physical development have improved markedly.

Our first breeze at Palm Meadows was below average (0.51, 4F) and Ben Perkins (trainer) commented that he looked “short”. I purchased STORM and we started him on the supplement when we shipped north to PARX race course; recently I have tracked him routinely galloping about “2:10-2:20 miles” without exertion. His last breeze at 48.33 (4F) did not tax him a little bit and we went 6.5F on Sunday in a Mdn 25K race (4th race 3/25/12 at Parx). His burst of speed at the sixteenth pole was truly amazing where he overcame 3 lengths and won by 4 “going away”.

STORM will be a foundation of supplementation for my thoroughbreds in training. Thank you for your insights and products for thoroughbreds and keep up the great work.”

Here’s my take on the race featured above:

-After a less than ideal break, Color Cam settles in with the second group of horses – a good dozen lengths off the leader.
-By the time the quarter mile split is posted, he is no longer visible to the camera.
-We next see him coming out of the final turn in 5th place a few paths outside the rail.
-Into the stretch run, as the horses running in the 4 spots in front of him are all slowing down equally, Color Cam is the only one to make a move to improve his position.
-He starts his kick at the sixteenth pole, and proceeds to make up several lengths in just a handful of strides to win going away at the 6.5F distance.

STORM’s primary ingredient is beta-alanine, an amino acid that converts to carnosine in your horse’s muscles. During high intensity work, as lactic acid builds up and fatigue is imminent, carnosine acts as a buffer to the hydrogen ions flooding the bloodstream, delaying the onset of fatigue.

Most of us remember the days of the ‘milkshake’ which promised similar buffering capabilities, but is now illegal and was quite unpleasant for the horse to experience when dosing. STORM is simply added to the feed 2x per day and is highly palatable, not too mention 100% natural and legal. Amino acids such as beta-alanine are merely the building blocks of protein.

In over 3 years of blogging, I’ve only touted a specific product 2 times; the other was Niagara Equissage: http://www.thoroedge.wordpress.com/equissage. However, when the science behind a product is sound, and my personal experiences are so profound – I like to spread the word.

In the interest of full disclosure; I am unaffiliated with the Niagara Equissage team, but I do market and sell the STORM product.

EDIT 4/3/12:
A Bullet at Belmont-

Another of Mr. Kane’s racing stock has been on STORM for several weeks now and just posted his first work of the 2012 season: 3F in 35.86 – the fastest of 15 at the distance this morning by over a half a second!

Look for Farmer Jones to return to racing this Spring – he’s a router and not one to breeze so quickly (before STORM that is.)

http://www1.drf.com/static/workouts/03/wBEL03.html

EDIT 4/11/12:
Another Bullet at Belmont-

Farmer Jones again works fastest; this time at 4F versus 37 others:

http://www1.drf.com/static/workouts/11/wBEL11.html

Again, this is not a historically fast worker, and his trainer/jock is certainly not urging him past the norm, he just seems to be much fitter than he was pre-STORM at this stage of his conditioning.

About bpressey

Equine Exercise Physiologist

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the win.
    I just wanted to comment. That since I have been reading your web site I have tweaked my training and also purchased a heart rate monitor. My first horse I ran the other day at Tampa after one year layoff finished a fast closing 2nd going 6F wanted a longer race but nothing was coming up for the next several weeks. Keep the information coming. P.S. drug free rehab and drug free prep up to the race and no shoes till the day before. It can be done people.

  2. Phillip Haycock

    Good stuff Bill, Very smart race.

  3. Bill can you tell me where I can get it in Australia.

    Regards
    John

    • Hi John, I believe through this fellow in AU:

      David Evans, Veterinary Consultant Equine Sport Science, Sydney, Australia
      Tel: + 61 411289212
      Web: bit.ly/davidevansscience
      Email: davidevansscience@gmail.com

      Please tell him I sent you, and let me know if you have any troubles. Dr. Evans literally wrote the book on equine exercise physiology.

    • Thanks RR-

      I’ve heard mixed reports on the human side of beta-alanine. However, humans seem to carry less muscular carnosine than do horses, which may explain some lesser effect on performance. Also, you will undoubtedly find some horses who genetically have near their physiological limit beta alanine, who don’t realize the huge performance gains of the others.

      The data I have seen puts this number at about 20%. My main hurdle is getting a trainer to try the STORM on all his racers – not just those who are struggling. The 3 fellows that have done exactly that have been thrilled with the results.

  4. Jessi Quarles

    Do you think it would benefit a quarter horse sprinter (maximum distance being 440 yards) like it does the distance horses?

    • My gut tells me ‘no’ Jessi, but I’ve been known to be wrong in the past. The shortest distance in a TB that I have seen affected by STORM usage is 3F, and that horse was just getting to be fit. When fully race-ready, I think it will be near the end of a 4F work where the benefits will be largest. QH racing is so alien to me, I just don’t have any data on what conditioning programs look like?

  5. Jessi Quarles

    That’s where the problem lies. 99% of the trainers out there have the same program, Bill. They are still doing the same things their grandparents did and jutifying by saying the quarter horse has to have more energy, so they don’t need to be worked. Most guys gallop a mile and half three days a week, putting them on the walker on days they don’t gallop. After about 60 days of this they’ll work them with speed at 220 yards about once every two or three weeks. That’s it. On my barrel racing horses I do lots more than that. I do a 4 mile warm up before I even get started with my training. Albeit at different gaits and different directions, and we sure didn’t start out at 4 miles, but we did work up to it. Then i’d sprint them about 50 yards once a week or so….progressively some days. I wanted them craving that sprint and they did. Quarter horse trainers rely heavily on the horse’s natural ability to run and to compete. Very few quarter horse trainers actually train i’ve found. They feed, they have someone gallop them, plug them in with someone on them so they run as hard as they can every time when someone’s on them and whatever happens, happens. When I brought my filly home last year, she was VERY winded after 5 minutes of jogging in my roundpen, she had NO confidence around other horses, which shows me she’s never worked in company, and this is a nice mare….a race winning mare. Just think what she COULD have done had someone given her a little confidence to compete and get her fit.

    • You will find that most thoroughbred trainers all train the same also… Treating them all like machines and not individuals, Mega-trainers are all a numbers game.

  6. I am from NZ. Not sure if this right place to ask questions but hopefully can get some advice. Have been involved in TB breeding and Yearling prep and breaking for several years but have been sending my horses out to train for racing – I am investigating becoming a trainer myself so have been conducting research and came across this site – can you recommend any good books etc. Also very interested in the heart rate monitor GPS – can I get recommendations on type and where to buy – can be from USA as I currently import horse trailers to sell in NZ so can bring out. Any help would be much appreciated.

  1. Pingback: STORM’ing Home a Maiden Winner: Color Cam at Parx

  2. Pingback: STORM’ing Home a Maiden Winner!

Leave a Reply

